Archives of Scientific Policy Committee, SPC

Identity Statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-SPC-1 to CERN-SPC-ongoing

Title

Archives of Scientific Policy Committee, SPC

Date(s)

December 1954 - Present

Level of description

Series

Extent of the unit of description

1,414 Items (ongoing)

Context [Top]

Name of creator

The CERN Scientific Policy Committee

Administrative history

In accordance with the CERN Convention (1953), the CERN Council established a Scientific Policy Committee which held its first meeting on 3rd December 1954. The terms of reference of the Scientific Policy Committee are:

•  to make recommendations to the Council on the priorities of research programmes and the allocation of research effort both within the Laboratories of the Organization and extramurally;

•  to examine and make recommendations to the Council on the allocation of resources to the various scientific activities of the Organization;

•  to advise the Council from the point of view of scientific policy on the management and staffing of the organization, including the visitors program and the nomination of senior staff;

•  to advise the Council on any other matters which affect the scientific activities of the Organization.

In contrast to the Finance Committee and the Council, the members of the Scientific Policy Committee do not represent their respective countries. They are nominated in their personal capacities and are required to judge issues strictly from the scientific point of view.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Received from the Council Secretariat

Content & Structure [Top]

Scope and content

The original order has been preserved. The items in this collection were created for and from the meetings of the Scientific Committee. The usual documents are lists of participants, agendas, minutes, progress reports and drafts of all these documents.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Nothing was destroyed.

Accruals

Accruals are received regularly, soon after they are produced.

System of arrangement

Items are first arranged by language (English, French and German) and then numerical and chronological order.

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in English, French and German.

Finding aids

Listed to file level in the CERN Archive Database.

Listed to item level in the CERN Archive database

Allied materials [Top]

Related units of description

The CERN Finance Committee collection (Also available in English, French and German). The CERN Council and Committee of Council collection (Also available in English, French and German).

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Sandrine Reyes

Date(s) of description

Geneva, the 26th April 2001, Revised 2007.

You are here