Archives of CERN Directors of Administration

Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Allied materials | Description control |


Database CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01 - For the period 1952-1975 - S. Dakkin, J. P. Richemont, G. H. Hampton
Database CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02 - For the period 1976-1980 - J. Adams, Executive Director-General
Database CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03 - For the period 1981-1988 - F. Heyn
Database CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04 - For the period 1989- 2003 - G. Vianes, H. Weber, M. Robin, J. Van Der Boon

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

Identity Statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-* 
  • Dakin, Samuel Arthur ffrench (1952 - 1955)(1958 - 1963),
  • Richemond, Jean Pierre (1955 - 1958),
  • Hampton, George Hughan (1963 - 1975)
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-*
(CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-*)
  • John Adams, Executive Director-General (1976-1980)
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-*
(CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-HEYN-*)
  • Rudolf Frans Heyn (1981 - 1988)
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-* 
  • Georges Vianès (1989 to 1991),
  • Helmut Weber (1992 to 1993),
  • Maurice Robin (1994-2000),
  • Johannes van der Boon (2001 - 2003)

 

Title

Archives of CERN Directors of Administration 

Date(s)

1952-1975

Level of description

Sub-fonds

Extent of the unit of description

 

Context [Top]

Name of creator

 Directors of Adminstration

Biographical history

The funtion of director of administration was occupied by

  • Dakin, Samuel Arthur ffrench from 1952 to 1955
  • Richemond, Jean Pierre from 1955 to 1958
  • Dakin, Samuel Arthur ffrench from 1958 to 1963
  • Hampton, George Hughan from 1963 to 1975

In 1976 John Adams served as Executive Director-General alongside Leon Van Hove as Research Director-General.

Five years later the Directors of Administration were : 

  • Rudolf Frans Heyn from 1981 to 1988,
  • Georges Vianès from period 1989 to 1991,
  • Helmut Weber from 1992 to 1993,
  • Maurice Robin from 1994 to 2000,
  • Johannes van der Boon from  2001 to 2003.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Office of Directors of Administration :

  • Susannah Tracy in January 1981 and 1984 and September 1998 for the documents of Samuel Dakin, Jean-Pierre Richemond and George Hampton
  • Susannah Tracy in July 1995 and September 1998. Elisabeth Buhlmann In August 1999 for the documents of Frans Heyn
  • Myriam Veyrat in May 2014 for the documents of Georges Vianès, Helmut Weber, Maurice Robin and Johannes van der Boon.

Content & Structure [Top]

Scope and content

 

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Nothing was destroyed.

Accruals

No further accruals are expected.

System of arrangement

The collection divides into fours parts with a specific classification plan for each sub-collection.

CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-* sub-fonds covers the period between 1952 to 1975    

  • Dakin, Samuel Arthur ffrench (1952 - 1955)
  • Richemond, Jean Pierre (1955 - 1958)
  • Dakin, Samuel Arthur ffrench (1958 - 1963)
  • Hampton, George Hughan (1963 - 1975)

[Back to System of arrangement]
- By Subject - 
DIR-ADM-01 CERN General CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-01-*
DIR-ADM-02 Conferences CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-02-*
DIR-ADM-03 Visitors CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-03-*
DIR-ADM-04 Relations with institutions, Privileges & Immunities CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-04-*
DIR-ADM-05 Loan of equipmentl CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-05-*
DIR-ADM-06 Headquaters agreement CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-06-*
DIR-ADM-07 Legal Adviser CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-07-*
DIR-ADM-08 Insurance for property CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-08-*
DIR-ADM-09 Income tax and internal taxation CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-09-*
DIR-ADM-10 Inventory CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-10-*
DIR-ADM-11 Procedure for signatures CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-11-*
DIR-ADM-12 CERN Purchasing procedure + financial rules CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-12-*
DIR-ADM-13 Administrative circulars CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-13-*
DIR-ADM-14 CERN Sites Meyrin, Prevessin: Extension, agreement, Water, electricity,... CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-14-*
DIR-ADM-15 Patent policy CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-15-*
DIR-ADM-16 Taxes, etc, ... CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-16-*
DIR-ADM-17 Inter-administrative meetings CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-17-*
DIR-ADM-18 Inter-organization committee CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-18-*
DIR-ADM-19 UNESCO CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-19-*
DIR-ADM-20 Piublic Information Office (PIO), Information policy - Editorial Commitee CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-20-*
DIR-ADM-21 Cooperation with Member States, International cooperation and ECFA CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-21-*
DIR-ADM-26 300 GeV Accelerator project CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-22-*
DIR-ADM-27 300 GeV accelerator : Projects A & B, Proposed sites
DIR-ADM-28 300 GeV accelerator : Revision of CERN convention
DIR-ADM-29 300 GeV accelerator : Headquaters agreement
DIR-ADM-30 300 GeV accelerator : Contracts
DIR-ADM-25 Supplementary project : Storage rings, 300 GeV project CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-23-*
DIR-ADM-24 Mont-Blanc Laboratory (Project between CERN, CNRS France and CNR Italy) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-24-*
DIR-ADM-MISC
DIR-ADM-CANT
DIR-ADM-HC		 Miscellaneous : canteens, housing, study group on administrative structure,  personal files, ... CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-25-*
DIR-ADM-WEEKLY
DIR-ADM-PRESS		 Press cuttings, weekly, press release CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-26-*
DIR-ADM-PO Purchasing Office, Supply service and store CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-27-*
DIR-ADM-SG General Services : Security : Traffic, Site, parkings, telephone, ... CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-28-*
- By Division - 
DIR-ADM-AR Accelerators Research (AR) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-AR-*
DIR-ADM-DD Data Handling (DD) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-DD-*
DIR-ADM-ENG Engineering (ENG) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-ENG-*
DIR-ADM-EP Experimental Physics (EP) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-Div-EP-*
DIR-ADM-FIN Finance (FIN) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-FIN-*
DIR-ADM-HP
DIR-ADM-HPH
DIR-ADM-HS		 Health Physics (HP) Group - Health and Safety CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-HS-*
DIR-ADM-ISR Intersecting Storage Rings (ISR) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-ISR-*
DIR-ADM-NP Nuclear Physics (NP) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-NP-*
DIR-ADM-NPA Nuclear Physics Apparatus (NPA) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-NPA-*
DIR-ADM-PE-01 to 16
DIR-ADM-PERS-01 to 14		 Personnel (PE) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-INSURANCE-*
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-PERS-*
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-STAFFASS-*
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-TRAINING-*
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-USERS-*
CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PE-WELFARE-*
DIR-ADM-MPS
DIR-ADM-PS		 Machine Proton Synchrotron (MPS)
Proton Synchrotron (PS)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-PS-*
DIR-ADM-SB Site and Buildings (SB)
Technical Services and Building (SB)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-SB-*
DIR-ADM-MSC
DIR-ADM-SC		 Machine Synchro-Cyclotron (MSC)
Synchro-Cyclotron (SC)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-SC-*
DIR-ADM-SI Synchrotron-Injector (SI) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-SI-*
DIR-ADM-ST Scientific and Technical Services CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-STS-*
DIR-ADM-TC Track Chambers (TC) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-DIV-TC-*
- By CERN Experiments committees -
DIR-ADM-ACPS PS Experimental Programme - Advisory Committee. CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-EXPCOMMITTEE-*
DIR-ADM-EEC Electronic Experiments Committee (EEC)
DIR-ADM-ISRC ISR Committee (ISRC)
DIR-ADM-NPRC Nuclear Physics Research Committee (NPRC)
DIR-ADM-PH-III Physics III Committee (PH-III-COM)
DIR-ADM-SPSC SPS Committee (SPSC)
DIR-ADM-TCC Track Chambers Committee (TCC)
- By CERN Committees - 
DIR-ADM-ADC Advisory Committee to Director-General CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-COMMITTEE-*
DIR-ADM-CO-ORD-CO
CO-DOCS		 Co-ordination Committee
Co-Ordinating Committee Documents
DIR-ADM-CSC Building and Common Services
DIR-ADM-DI Board of Directors
DIR-ADM-DIR Directorate
DIR-ADM-EXC Executive Committee
DIR-ADM-GD Group of Directors
DIR-ADM-MAN
DIR-ADM-MAN-DOC		 Management committee
DIR-ADM-RPG Research Policy Group (RPG)
DIR-ADM-SS Safety Committee
DIR-ADM-SSM Senior Staff Meetings
- By Council documents -
DIR-ADM-C Council documents CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-C-*
DIR-ADM-FC FC Documents CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-FC-*
DIR-ADM-SPC SPC Doucments CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-SPC-*
- By Chrono - 
DIR-ADM-CHRONO
DIR-ADM-REG
DIR-ADM-MISC		 Chronofiles, registration of letters and confidential correspondence CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-01-CHRONO-*

CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-* / CERN-ARCH-DGE-* sub-fonds covers the period between 1976 to 1980

  • John Adams was Executive Director General

[Back to System of arrangement]
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-01-* CERN General CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-01-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-02-* Public relations : Press, publications, conferences and visits CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-02-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-03-* External relations
 3.0 : Relations with Member States and with other institutes
 3.1 : European institution
 3.2 : International Collaboration		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-03-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-04-* Relations with Member States CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-04-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-05-* Relations with Host States - CERN site CERN-ARCHDIR-ADM-02-05-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-06-* Council and its committees CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-06-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-07-* Directors - Directorate :
Executive board, Research Board, DG Services		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-07-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-08-* Theory division (TH) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-08-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-09-* Experimental Physics division (EP) :
Division leader + personnel, Neutrino experiment, Co-ordinators, Contracts, Proton Life-time experiment, Experiments committeess : SCC, PSCC, SPSC		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-09-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-10-* Experimental Physics Facilities division (EF) :
Division leader + Personnel , Bubble chambers, BEBC, Gargamelle, Contracts		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-10-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-11-* Data Handling division (DD) : 
Division leader + Personnel, Computers, Advisory Committee computing, CERN Puiblications		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-11-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-12-* Proton Synchrotron division (PS) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-12-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-13-* Intersecting Storage Rings division (ISR) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-13-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-14-* Super Proton Synchrotron division (SPS) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-14-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-15-* Personnel division (PE) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-15-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-16-* Personnel division (PE) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-16-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-17-* Personnel division (PE) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-17-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-18-* Finance division (FI) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-18-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-19-* Budget CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-19-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-20-* Site and Buildings  CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-20-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-21-* Health and Safety CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-21-*
CERN-ARCH-DGE-JBA-Ref-* Experiments committees, executive board, research board, chronos, Bannier working party CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-02-22-*

CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-* sub-fonds covers the period between 1981 to 1988

  • Frans Heyn (1981 - 1988)

[Back to System of arrangement]
CERN General CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-01-*
Public relations CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-02-*
External relations :  CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-03-*
CERN Council and its committees CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-04-*
Directorate CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-05-*
Physics :
 - Theoretical division (TH)
 - Experimental Physics division (EP)
 - Experimental Physics Facilities division (EF)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-06-*
Computing :
 - Data Handling division (DD)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-07-*
Accelerators : 
 - Proton Synchrotron division (PS)
 - Intersecting Storage Rings division (ISR)
 - Super Proton Synchrotron division (SPS)
 - Large Electron Positron collider division (LEP)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-08-*
Departments :
 - Management Information (IM)
 - Administrative data Processing (ADP)
 - Documentation (DOC)		 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-09-*
Personnel and Users CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-10-*
Finance division CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-11-*
Budget CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-12-*
Sites and Buildings division (SB) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-13-*
Health and Safety division (HS) CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-14-*
Chrono CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-15-*
Colloquium & Documentation CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-03-16-*

CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-* sub-fonds covers the period between 1989 to 2003

  • Georges Vianèes (1989 - 1988)
  • Helmut Weber (1992 - 1993)
  • Maurice Robin (1994 - 2000)
  • Johannes van der Boon (2001 - 2003)

[Back to System of arrangement]
Chronofiles:
  • Letters: DG-DA-1A-001 to 025
  • Register of Chronos: DG-DA-1B-001 to 006
  • Notes to the Director-General: DG-DA-1C-001 to  019
  • Notes from the Director-General: DG-DA-1D-001 to 002
 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-01-*
Committees and Working Groups: 
  • Administrative Sector Meetings: DG-DA-2A-001 
  • Comité de Liason administrative (CLA): DG-DA-2B-001 to 010
  • Working Groups by chronological order: DG-DA-2C-001 to 017
 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-02-*
Internal administration:
  • Activities concerning all divisions: DG-DA-3A-001 to 
  • Relations with Staff Association: DG-DA-3B-001 to 002
  • Special affairs by chronological order: DG-DA-3C-001
 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-03-*
External relations:
  • Relations with host States
  • Relations with other states
  • Relations with European Commission and Council of Europe
  • Relations with institutions
  • Missions and consultants: by chronological order
 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-04-*
Internal relations:
  • CERN Divisions
  • CERN Groups
 CERN-ARCH-DIR-ADM-04-05-*

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in xxxx.

Finding aids

Listed to file level in the CERN Archives Database.

Allied materials [Top]

Related units of description

 

Note

 

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Sandrine Reyes

Date(s) of description

Geneva, the August 2019

  1. Archives
  2. CERN Archives
  3. Archives guide
  4. Management
  5. Management - Directorate
  6. Archives of CERN Directors of Administration