Archives of Carlo Rubbia, Director-General of CERN from 1989 to 1993

Identity Statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-1-01 to CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-4-257

Title

Archives of Carlo Rubbia, Director-General of CERN from 1989 to 1993

Date(s)

September 1980 - December 1993

Level of description

Sub-fonds

Extent of the unit of description

504 boxes; 1,747 Items; 56 linear metres

Context [Top]

Name of creator

Carlo Rubbia

Biographical history

Working as a Senior Physicist at CERN since 1961, Carlo Rubbia's name is related to the discovery of the W and Z Particles. In 1984 he, together with Simon van der Meer, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for the work he had done as Head of the UA1 Collaboration. From 1970 to 1988 Carlo Rubbia spent one semester per year at Harvard University as Higgins Professor of Physics. In January 1989 he was appointed Director-General of CERN. In November of Carlo Rubbia's first year as Director-General the inauguration of LEP, the Large Electron Positron Collider, took place after eight years construction under his predecessor Herwig Schopper. During his mandate as Director-General the four LEP experiments (ALEPH, DELPHI, L3 and OPAL) gave their first important scientific results. Continued development in relation to the LHC (Large Hadron Collider) Project culminated in the presentation of the LHC Project and its experimental programme to CERN Council in December 1993. (The project was approved in December 1994).

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Directorate Service Unit (DSU), CERN

Content & Structure [Top]

Scope and content

These documents represent the filing system of Carlo Rubbia during his period as Director-General of CERN. They cover all aspects of CERN's activities, and include:

• Correspondence

• Meetings of Directorate, Management Board, etc,

• Official visits

• Personnel matters

• Inaugurations of LEP and Microcosm

• Seminars, Conferences, Committees of LHC, ECFA, ICFA, SPSC...

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Approximately 10 linear metres of material comprising (un-annotated) copies of Council and other Committee documents (CC, FC, SPC, LEP, LHCC) were destroyed.

Accruals

No further accruals are expected.

System of arrangement

The original order has been preserved. There was originally no classification plan, but for the purposes of cataloguing the records have been divided into four major groups:

1 - Chronofiles

CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-1-01 to 44

2 - Meeting of

1 - Directorate
2 - Management Board
3 - General

 
CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-2-1-001 to 137
CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-2-2-01 to 56
CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-2-3-0014 to 1505

3 - Miscellaneous

CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-3-001 to 157

4 - Incoming mail

CERN-ARCH-DG-CR-4-001 to 256

Within these groups the files were arranged in (more or less) chronological order. Where one exists, the original reference number (a simple running number) has been preserved in the RN field of the CERN Archive database. Some files also had another original number called the "evenement number". These have been preserved in the NO (Note) field.

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in English, French, Italian and a few files in Spanish and German.

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Includes a flew floppy disks.

Finding aids

Listed to file level in the CERN Archive Database.

Listed to file level in the CERN Archive database.

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Sandrine Reyes

Date(s) of description

Geneva, the 24th April 2001, Revised 2007.

You are here