The Pauli Biographical Collection

[Back to Pauli Archive guide]


Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Allied materials | Description control | Database


Identity statement [Top]

Reference code(s)

CERN-ARCH-PBC

Title

The Pauli Biographical Collection

Date(s)

1900 to 1958

Level of description

Series

Extent of the unit of description

326 items, 0.2 metre, 1 box

Context [Top]

Name of creator

Wolfgang Pauli (1900 - 1958)

Biographical history

For Pauli's biographical history see the Pauli Archive: fonds level description.

Archival history

For archival history see the Pauli Archive: fonds level description.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Pauli's widow, Mrs. Franca Pauli, donated most of the collection.

Content and structure [Top]

Scope and content

The Pauli Biographical Collection contains non-scientific letters, personnal documents, press cuttings and some other material, giving information on Wolfgang Pauli's daily life.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information

Nothing was destroyed.

Accruals

A few further items may be collected.

System of arrangement

The arrangement was partly made by Wolfgang Pauli himself and completed by Franca Pauli. Documents are arranged by subject (or by correspondent for the letters).

Conditions of access and use [Top]

Conditions governing access

See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.

Language / scripts of material

Most of the material is written in German and English.

Finding aids

Listed to item level in the CERN Archive database.

Description control [Top]

Archivist's note

Description prepared by Marc Reymond.

Date(s) of description: Geneva, the September and October 2002.

You are here