NSA (Nuclear Science Abstracts)

[Back to Online databases]

 

ACCESS

 

Description

The national INIS centre of the USA has developed the Nuclear Science Abstracts (NSA) search interface/view of the Energy Citations Database (ECD). NSA is a comprehensive collection of international nuclear science and technology literature for the period 1948 through 1976. NSA existed as a printed product (Volumes 1-33) initially, created by DOE's predecessor, the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). NSA includes citations to scientific and technical reports from the AEC, the U.S. Energy Research and Development Administration and its contractors, plus other agencies and international organizations, universities, and industrial and research organizations. References to books, conference proceedings, papers, patents, dissertations, engineering drawings, and journal articles from worldwide sources are also included. Currently (01/2007) the NSA interface/view contains over 829,000 items from the NSA printed volumes. Over 172,000 of these have digitized abstracts, and over 500 have had full text scanned electronically. These numbers will evolve over time. The entire NSA database contains 2,000,000 records.

 

Coverage

1948-1976. In general, the database offers the customer bibliographic records with abstracts and full details of the source document which can be located by using the CERN Library catalogue or obtained via our interlibrary loan service.

 

How to search

Authors

Assists in identifying variation(s) of an author's name Can be used to identify multiple authors Selected author(s) are 'submitted' to Advanced Search

Subjects

Assists in identifying terms for subject searches Controlled vocabulary is in a hierarchical structure Selected term(s) are 'submitted' to Advanced Search

Truncation

The asterisk (*) is used as a multi-character wildcard The question mark (?) is used as a single-character wildcard

The complete manual

Nuclear Science Abstracts Search Help

You are here