Research and Scientific Computing Sector, 2009-2015 - Research and Computing Sector (RC), 2016-Present

[Back to Internal Organization of CERN]

► Access to fulltexts and lists of reports



S. Bertolucci

In 2009 the CERN management adopted a new organisational structure and regrouped its activities into three sectors:

  • Research and Scientific Computing
  • Accelerators and Technology
  • Administration and General Infrastructure


The experimental (EP) and theoretical (TH) physics departments were regrouped with Information Technology Department (IT) to form the Research and Scientific Computing Sector comprising two departments:

  • Physics Department (PH)
  • Information technology Department (IT)


This sector was responsible for all aspects of research, comprising the LHC and the whole non-LHC program as well as scientific computing.


In 2016 with the appointment of a new Director-General, the CERN structure was regrouped in four sectors:

  • Accelerators and Technology (AT)
  • Finance and Human Resources (FHR)
  • International Relations (IR)
  • Research and Computing (RC)


The sector was renamed Research and Computing Sector (RC) and kept the same activities. The Physics department split into two departments, so the RC Sector comprised three departments

  • Experimental Physics Department (PH)
  • Theoretical physics Department (TH)
  • Information technology Department (IT)
2016 E. Elsen

Source: Annual reports

You are here