Archives of the UA2 Collaboration, Underground Area 2
Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Allied materials | Description control | Database
Identity Statement [Top]
Reference code(s)
CERN-ARCH-UA2
Title
Archives of the UA2 Collaboration, Underground Area 2
Date(s)
From 1978 to 1992.
Level of description
Sub-fonds
Extent of the unit of description
128 boxes; 15 linear meters; 323 items
Context [Top]
Name of creator
CERN (Geneva, Switzerland), UA2 Collaboration.
Administrative history
The UA2 Collaboration has many things in common with the UA1 Collaboration. These two collaborations made their experiments at CERN, using the SPS accelerator, and both were chasing the same goal (discovery of W and Z bosons). The major difference (from a physics point of view) is the detectors they used, which were very different. The UA2 detector was optimised for electron detection and had no central magnet. Toroïdal magnetic spectrometers in the forward and backward regions served to detect electrons and measure their energy.
Between 1985 and 1987, the UA2 detector was upgraded (extending of the calorimeter coverage, and rebuilding the central detector).
The UA2 experiment ended in 1990.
The UA2 Collaboration comprised groups from Bern, Cambridge, CERN, Dortmund, Heidelberg, Melbourne, Milano, Orsay (LAL), Pavia, Perugia, Pisa, Saclay (CEN).
The spokesmen of the UA2 Collaboration were Pierre Darriulat (1978-1985) and Luigi Di Lella (1986-1992). The leader of CERN UA2 group was Peter Jenni.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer
Peter Jenni (CERN - Particle Physics Experiments Division), 17 March 1994.
Content & Structure [Top]
Scope and content
This collection contains reports, correspondence and official documents related to UA2 Collaboration. It gives an overview of a large and international scientific collaboration.
Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information
Nothing was destroyed.
Accruals
No further accruals are expected.
System of arrangement
| Administration and General | CERN-ARCH-UA2-01-01-001 to 01-05-005 |
| Notes | CERN-ARCH-UA2-02-01 to 02-17 |
| Technical drawings | CERN-ARCH-UA2-03-01-001 to 03-02-007 |
| UA2 minutes and documents | CERN-ARCH-UA2-04-01-001 to 04-06-004 |
| Upgrading UA2 | CERN-ARCH-UA2-05-01-001 to 05-02-004 |
| Calorimeter, upgraded | CERN-ARCH-UA2-06-01 |
| Physics analysis | CERN-ARCH-UA2-07-01-001 to 07-03-012 |
| Calibration | CERN-ARCH-UA2-08-01-001 to 08-03-001 |
| Test beams | CERN-ARCH-UA2-09-01 to 09-11 |
| Electronics Counting Room | CERN-ARCH-UA2-10-01 to 10-14 |
| Data Acquisition | CERN-ARCH-UA2-11-01-001 to 11-05-003 |
| Photomultipliers | CERN-ARCH-UA2-12-01 to 12-02 |
| Logbooks | CERN-ARCH-UA2-13-01-001 to 13-16-002 |
| Miscellaneous | CERN-ARCH-UA2-14-01-001 to 14-02-001 |
Conditions of access and use [Top]
Conditions governing access
See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.
Conditions governing reproduction
Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.
Language / scripts of material
Most of the material is written in English.
Finding aids
Listed to file level in the CERN Archives Database.
Allied materials [Top]
Related units of description
The UA1 Collaboration collection contains documents concerning similar experiments, but with a different technology.
Note
For a complete description of the experiments of UA1 and UA2 Collaborations, see : WATKINS, Peter Maitland: Story of the W and Z, 1986.
For a detailed description of UA2 experience, see Karl Jakobs: The Physics Results of the UA2 Experiment at the CERN pp Collider, 1994.
Description control [Top]
Archivist's note
Description of the collection prepared by Maryse Moskofian. ISAD(G) description by Marc Reymond.
Date(s) of description
Collection: Geneva, 2000. ISAD(G) description: Geneva, August 2002, Revised 2007.