Archives of WA9 and NA8 experiments
Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Description control | Database
Identity Statement [Top]
Reference code(s)
CERN-ARCH-WA9-
CERN-ARCH-NA8-
Title
Archives of WA9 and NA8 experiments
Date(s)
1967 - 1985
Level of description
Sub-fonds
Extent of the unit of description
62 items, 2 linear metres
Context [Top]
Name of creator
Geneva. CERN. WA9 and NA8 experimental collaborations
Administrative history
The WA9 experiment in the West Area of the Super Proton Synchroton accelerator (SPS) was approved in 1975, and ran from 1977 (data analysis continued in 1978). The experiment WA9 made a high-precision study of elastic scattering in the Coulomb interference region. In the WA9 experiment, measurements were made of the differential cross-section for hadron elastic scattering in the four momentum transfer region -0.002 (GeV/c)2 to -0.05 (GeV/c)2. It was continued, with the same collaboration team, as NA8, approved in 1977. The experiment NA8 performed a study of hadron elastic scattering at small angles.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer
Tord Ekelöf, spokesman of the WA9 experiment, April 1992.
Content & Structure [Top]
Scope and content
The WA9 and NA8 archive is a collection of various papers concerning the experiments WA9 and NA8.
Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information
Nothing was destroyed.
Accruals
No further accruals are expected.
System of arrangement
The original order of the archive was preserved. The files are sorted into the following categories:
CERN-ARCH-WA9-
- Proposals and administration
- Experimental equipment
- Beam and layout
- Performance
- Physics and analysis
CERN-ARCH-NA8-
- Proposals and administration
- Experimental equipment
- Beam and layout
- Performance
- Physics and analysis
Conditions of access and use [Top]
Conditions governing access
See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN. In general, records on any subject that are over 30 years old, and all records of a purely scientific nature, may be consulted.
Conditions governing reproduction
Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.
Language / scripts of material
Most of the material is written in English, French or German.
Finding aids
Listed to file level in the CERN Archives Database.
Description control [Top]
Archivist's note
Description prepared by Maywenn Haldimann.
Date(s) of description
Geneva, the 25th June 2001, Revised 2007.