The Pauli Manuscript Collection
Identity Statement | Context | Content and Structure | Conditions of access and use | Allied materials | Description control | Database
Identity statement [Top]
Reference code(s)
CERN-ARCH-PMC-01-* to CERN-ARCH-PMC-10-*
Title
The Pauli Manuscript Collection
Date(s)
1900 to 1958
Level of description
Series
Extent of the unit of description
776 items, 1 metre, 10 boxes
Context [Top]
Name of creator
Wolfgang Pauli (1900 - 1958)
Biographical history
For Pauli's biographical history see the Pauli Archive: fonds level description.
Archival history
For archival history see the Pauli Archive: fonds level description.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer
Pauli's widow, Mrs. Franca Pauli, donated most of the collection.
Content and structure [Top]
Scope and content
The Pauli Manuscript Collection contains drafts of some of Pauli's works, as well as notes, preparation of lectures and calculations on various subjects, reflecting the scientific activities of Wolfgang Pauli. This collection gives an overview of how Wolfgang Pauli was working.
Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information
Nothing was destroyed.
Accruals
A few further items may be collected.
System of arrangement
The arrangement was made by Pauli himself. Documents are arranged by subject.
| Boxes | Category | Ref. of the manuscript |
|---|---|---|
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-01- | Quantenfeldtheorie - Spinortheorie | pp. 1/1 - 1/608 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-02- | Schwache Wechselwirkung - Pais-Theorie | pp. 2/1 - 2/642 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-03- | Thermodynamik | pp. 3/1 - 3/376 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-04- | "Geistertheorie" | pp. 4/1 - 4/494 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-05- | Nicht-Lokale Feldtheory - CPT | pp. 5/1 - 5/733 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-06- | Physik - Biologie - Psychologie | pp. 6/1 - 6/372 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-07- | Lorentzgruppe | pp. 7/1 - 7/298 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-08- | Vorlesungen | pp. 8/1 - 8/375 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-09- | RelativitätskongreB 1955 | pp. 9/1 - 9/639 |
| CERN-ARCH-PMC-10- | Periodischhes System - Keplerstudie | pp. 10/1 - 10/186 |
Conditions of access and use [Top]
Conditions governing access
See file level description and the CERN operational circular No 3: rules applicable to archival material and archiving at CERN.
Conditions governing reproduction
Copyright is retained by CERN, no reproduction without permission.
Language / scripts of material
Most of the material is written in German and English.
Finding aids
Listed to file level in the CERN Archives database.
Allied materials [Top]
Related units of description
Listed to item level in Cassidy's Catalogue (also available at the CERN Archives) and in the CERN Archives database.
Description control [Top]
Archivist's note
Description prepared by Marc Reymond. Revised in 2023 by Sandrine Reyes
Date(s) of description: Geneva, May to August 2002.